Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard, makers of the world’s No 1 Irish whiskey, Jameson, has been named Whiskey Distiller of the Year and Whiskey Brand Innovator of the Year at the Icons of Whiskey Awards 2012. Single pot still whiskey Powers John’s Lane Release was also recognised, scooping the prize for Best Pot Still Whiskey within the World Whiskies Awards, at a ceremony held at the Waldorf Hilton in London.

The three awards underline a hugely successful and innovative year for the company, in which it demonstrated its unique distilling capabilities and a vision for the future of the Irish whiskey category. Highlights included the launch of the Single Pot Still Whiskeys of Midleton initiative, which introduced Powers John’s Lane Release, Midleton Barry Crockett Legacy and Redbreast 12 Year Old Cask Strength, while Jameson introduced the newest product in the Reserve range, Jameson Select Reserve.

Anna Malmhake, CEO for Irish Distillers, says: “We are delighted with this phenomenal result, especially as the Icons of Whiskey are among the most respected whiskey awards in the world. This is an exciting time for Irish whiskey and to be recognised as Distiller and Brand Innovator of the Year is a true testament to the continued contribution of our skilled and passionate distillery team at Midleton.”

Last night’s accolades follow a spate of recent successes for Irish Distillers including Distillery of the Year at the Whiskey Advocate Awards and the Whiskeys of the World Trophy at the 2011 International Spirits Challenge for Midleton Barry Crockett Legacy. Respected whiskey writer Jim Murray awarded 96.5 points to Powers John’s Lane Release, making it his 2012 Whiskey Bible Irish Whiskey of the Year and the highest ever scoring Irish whiskey in the history of the Bible.


Irish Distillers Limited, part of Pernod Ricard Group, distils and distributes a range of famous Irish whiskey, gin and vodka brands internationally, including Jameson, Powers, Paddy, Midleton Very Rare, Redbreast, Cork Dry Gin and Huzzar Vodka.

About The Icons of Whiskey

Now in its 9th year in its current form, the Icons of Whiskey awards celebrate the people and places behind the great whiskies of the world, and are nominated by professionals in the drinks industry. Independent editorial panel of whiskey experts pick winners from the regional heats of Scotland, America and Rest of World before the overall winners are announced.

About Jameson:

Jameson is the world’s No 1 Irish whiskey. Award-winning as a result of its exceptional smoothness following its unique triple distillation process, Jameson is enjoyed in more than 120 countries worldwide.

The core Jameson range includes Jameson; Jameson 12 Year Old Special Reserve; Jameson Gold Reserve; Jameson 18 Year Old Limited Reserve; Jameson Rarest Vintage Reserve; and Jameson Signature Reserve (Travel Retail exclusive).

About Single Pot Still Whiskeys of Midleton:

In May 2011, Irish Distillers Pernod Ricard announced plans to underline the rich heritage of Irish whiskey with the launch of a new initiative – Single Pot Still whiskeys of Midleton. Aimed at promoting consistent communication on the provenance and quality of single pot still whiskey, the launch heralded an increase in investment in Irish Distillers’ existing portfolio, ahead of a planned roll-out of innovative extensions. Additionally, the initiative marked the adoption by the industry of new terminology for this unique style of whiskey – moving from ‘pure pot still’ to ‘single pot still’.

For further information please visit

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress