Diageo’s Single Malt Scotch Whiskies Wins Coveted Prize of Grand Scotch Whisky Master – Scotch Whisky News


Grand Scotch Whisky Master
Diageo’s Single Malt Scotch Whiskies win prestigious title again

The coveted prize of Grand Scotch Whisky Master has been awarded to Diageo for the success of their Single Malt Scotch Whiskies.

The announcement came at this week’s Spirits Masters Awards in London.
This is the second year that Diageo have won this award, decided by independent judges from outside the industry. The Spirits Masters competition is sponsored and organised by The Spirits Business magazine.
The Singleton™ of Glen Ord 12 year old and Cardhu™ 12 year old won Masters medals, as did Talisker™ 10 year old and Lagavulin™ 16 year old.
Talisker, Lagavulin and The Singleton of Glen Ord won the same top awards in last year’s competition, under a different set of judges.

Nick Morgan, Diageo Scotch Knowledge and Heritage, commented:
“We’re obviously thrilled to have earned this highly esteemed award again. Above all, it’s a tribute to those skilled people in Scotland who make our malts. Talisker, Lagavulin and our other well-established Whiskies from the Classic Malts Selection regularly score top marks in international competitions, but we never take this for granted.

“The increasing success of The Singleton™ in competitions like this is a great tribute to our colleagues who conceived, developed and produce these Single Malts. The Singleton is now celebrating being the world’s fastest growing  Single Malt Scotch Whisky in the Top 40, reaching 100,000 cases in just 3 years (Source: International Wine and Spirit Record).

“The Singleton™ of Glen Ord, in particular, is doing extremely well in Asia, and these awards confirm our faith in these new brands.”

The Grand Scotch Whisky Master award was announced at The Spirits Masters Awards dinner held on 1 December at Cinnamon Kitchen in the City of London.

Further information from Pat Roberts • cognis.pr@zen.co.uk • +44 (0)7774 424 410

Awards details

Scotch Whisky Grand Master, The Spirits Masters 2009
Diageo plc

The Singleton

The Singleton is the world’s fastest growing Single Malt Scotch Whisky  in the Top 40, reaching 100,000 cases in just 3 years (Source: International Wine and Spirit Record)

In Taiwan, the campaign for The Singleton of Glen Ord received the accolade of ‘Best Marketing Campaign’ in the Asia Pacific Hero Awards.

Individual wins

The competition awarded four Masters and eight Gold Medals to Diageo’s Single Malts. Diageo Single Malt Whiskies took four of the ten Masters given out in the Single Malts category this year, and eight of the 14 Gold awards.

Cardhu™ 12 year old  Master
Lagavulin™ 16 year old  Master
Talisker™ 10 year old Master
The Singleton™ of Glen Ord 12 year old  Master
Clynelish™ 14 year old  Gold
Dalwhinnie™ 15 year old  Gold
Lagavulin™ 12 year old  Gold
Lagavulin™ Distillers Edition™ Gold
Oban™ 14 year old Gold
Royal Lochnagar™ 12 year old  Gold
The Singleton™ of Glendullan 12 year old  Gold
Talisker™ Distillers Edition™ Silver

The judges

The judges in this year’s blind tastings included Neil Ridley, caskstrength.net blog; Cris Maclean from The Whisky Shop; Sukhinder Singh, owner of The Whisky Exchange Company; Doug Mclvor, the well-known spirits buyer of Berry Bros & Rudd; Dominic Roskrow, former editor of Whisky Magazine; and Patience Gould, editor of The Spirit Business.

About Diageo

Diageo is the world’s leading beverage alcohol business with an outstanding collection of beverage alcohol brands across spirits, wines, and beer categories. These brands include Johnnie Walker® Blended Scotch Whisky, Guinness® beer, Smirnoff® vodka, J&B® Blended Scotch Whisky, Baileys® Irish cream liqueur, Cuervo™ tequila, Tanqueray® gin, Captain Morgan® rum, Crown Royal™ blended Canadian whiskey and Beaulieu Vineyard™ and Sterling Vineyards™ wines.

The Classic Malts Selection, Cardhu, Clynelish, Dalwhinnie, Lagavulin, Oban, Royal Lochnagar, Talisker, The Singleton and Distillers Edition words, the Quaich device and associated logos are trade marks. © 2009

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress